CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS

Monday, October 11, 2010

...kid's today...

So Christmas has been on the brain lately. Workin retail does that to you. So yesterday Marlene and I were talkin and she decided to write out a "Christmas Wish List". Which is Ok with me, as a momma I wanna do everything I can to make my kid's happy. Not in a spoil them kinda way. But I work a lot and between that them, baby sitten and jus life in general I spend a lot of time workin for what they need rather then what they want. I'm actually very fortunate cause my kid's even though I exaggerate there madness sometimes there actually really good kid's. And one thing I pride myself in is that they understand. And there just as happy with our simple little lives as I am. Jesse and I spend a lot of time with them. And when we have a little extra cash we like to have lunch with them and shop get them a small somethin somethin. So when Marlene handed me her list. It was short and, not what I expected from an 8yr old. Her list went like this: 1. New Shoes 2. Skinny Jeans / New Clothes 3. Lap top. Not Ubber important because we got a Comp. 4. Make-up / Polish && 5. an Ipod && or Mp3 Player. Shocking I know. I'm not really sure how to approach this situation lol. I've created a monster?? Possibly. I don't believe I have but I think that I've influenced her in the wrong direction. The last couple of years Jesse and I have gotten her baby dolls and barbies and all that good girlie stuff that when I think back I remember wanting that stuff as a kid. When I hit 12 I asked for a stereo and at 17 a pager. But I think those were age appropriate gifts?!?! Right? Now the Mp3 Player I'm ok with. When I went into parenting lol like it was a hobby... but anyways when I decided to have kids I told myself that I wanna be the "cool" mom with rules and boundaries. I want my kids to be able to express themselves in who they are and what they do. And I feel that if I go about this the right way I will be able to have a close relationship with my children and trust them, in there decisions right I mean lol isn't that the way it works? I know that I'm foolin myself adolescents are meant to make mistakes that's how we learn right? But at the same time, my mom didn't do to bad and the mistakes we made were at a better age then the ages that they normally happen at. Who knows? Lol, but in the same sense. I don't wanna push Marlene into growing up to fast. Hmmmmm, so now what??


0 comments: